?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Scotty_Stripes

WHO: Scotty Stripes

WHERE: This occured over email, address can be provided if necessary (rules say not to?)
However FA accounts are: http://www.furaffinity.net/user/scottystripes (old account: http://www.furaffinity.net/user/staar )

WHAT: Fursuit Concept art through www.NeonSlushie.com

WHEN: Commission order was placed October 11th, paid for the 13th, and completed the 25th.
Initial contact was all fairly pleasant, but as soon as the commission was completed, things went sour fast. Customer filed for a chargeback even after I made the requested changes to the artwork.

PROOF: I have included every email that has been exchanged between us.
First Contact/Commission Form: http://i.imgur.com/e9uCjeC.png
A few back & forth emails, all pleasant: http://i.imgur.com/qjnEzyh.png
Commission Completed: http://i.imgur.com/taCvBtB.png
Finished Image: http://i.imgur.com/CN0L6jF.png
*Things go Sour... http://i.imgur.com/TeKRT5V.png
I fix the mistake: http://i.imgur.com/5kFk0L2.png
Customer Files Chargeback: http://i.imgur.com/NiWssCa.png

EXPLAIN:
Everything is pretty self-explanatory through the screenshots, but for those of you who do not feel like reading it all:

Customer, Scotty Stripes, commissions me for a basic reference of their Zebra character. I charge them $80 ($50 base price, +$25 design fee, +$5 extra complexity fee) -  they pay several days later, and the commission is completed on schedule.
Scotty is very unhappy with the outcome (mainly the stripes) and lets me know that. I say it's not a problem and I'm happy to work with them until they are satisfied with the art.
Scotty becomes very hostile and voices that they feel they were scammed. I again tell them I can make the changes so they are happy with it.
I go ahead and fix all the stripes to their specifications, only to find that they filed for a chargeback.
I have tried multiple times to contact them and request they cancel the chargeback but they have not answered me. I feel very wronged here. I am going to be out $80 and many many many hours of work.

I realize that I am not perfect in this situation, they did request more realistic striping than what I initially gave them. However, my job is to make designs that can transfer easily into fursuits and realistic zebra stripes are not something that works well for this. I was more than happy to fix my mistakes, but I feel the treatment I was given in this situation is extremely unfair.

What can I do now? What can I say to paypal to get protection, before that chargeback clears? Last time I had a customer file a chargeback, I lost because my products are digital only and not physical items. Is there anything I can do? I really need advice.

And I really did feel I needed to warn others of Scotty Stripes and their behavior, so other artists and fursuit makers can avoid having this happen to them.

UPDATE: The chargeback did not go through!

"The case [customer name] opened regarding a payment to you has automatically closed because it was not escalated before November 16, 2015. Any funds associated with this payment that may have been on hold is now available."

So the money has been returned to me.

Scotty Stripes has still never contacted me, apologized, or canceled the chargeback, so this beware is still plenty relevant. However I am super happy that my money was not taken from me!

Community Tags:

Before commenting, please read our Community Rules.
Do not go after persons posted about here, by leaving comments on their art pages.
If you have been posted about, please read I've Been Posted on Artists_Beware, Now What?

Comments

( 64 comments — Leave a comment )
Page 1 of 3
<<[1] [2] [3] >>
celestinaketzia
Nov. 3rd, 2015 02:30 am (UTC)
Wow he went from zero to 60 in like one second, gosh! That's a beware definitely well warranted.

I do have a suggestion though. While we were reviewing this we couldn't find an explanation of the fees and charges anywhere on your form, nor in the email sent, or on your Terms of Service page. We did eventually find it on the character design page, but a client may not see that right off the bat. I definitely suggest adding that in to avoid people like this in the future.

Edit: Also as for your question about Paypal, I do suggest calling them and explaining the situation to them. Always call Paypal. I am not sure if it's kicked in yet, but digital goods were due to be added to their protection list.

Edited at 2015-11-03 02:31 am (UTC)
viothefoxbird
Nov. 3rd, 2015 06:47 pm (UTC)
Great suggestion. I will try to make that more clear!
(It is on both my examples page and my character design page! But I can make it more obvious, for sure)
gatekat
Nov. 3rd, 2015 02:31 am (UTC)
Doesn't Paypal have a method to challenge chargebacks?

I know in one case they did help the artist who was scammed this way. It wasn't a return of their money, but the extra fees were dropped. They might help you out.
viothefoxbird
Nov. 3rd, 2015 06:50 pm (UTC)
They do, but last time this happened to me paypal sided with the customer despite them being clearly in the wrong- simply because my products are digital and not "physical". :(
kayla_la
Nov. 3rd, 2015 02:35 am (UTC)
Goodness, he got abusive really fast. I admit that I likely would have refunded him by the time it got around to that second letter full of insults and told him the commission was canceled.

I agree with Cel that you need to be more upfront regarding the different prices, but the beware is very much warranted. He was out to hurt you, when all he needed to say was 'Can we redo the stripes?'. There was no need for so much venom!
viothefoxbird
Nov. 3rd, 2015 06:44 pm (UTC)
I WAS tempted to refund him but I had already done so much work! Perhaps I could have offered him a partial refund...things I will consider for future situations like this (heaven forbid!)
sacch
Nov. 3rd, 2015 02:38 am (UTC)
Wowwwww those comments in response. That's not critique, some of the comments are flat-out aggressive and it just gets worse as you go on.
I'm really sorry this happened to you. The reference sheet that you did is adorable. Beware well warranted on that client.
viothefoxbird
Nov. 3rd, 2015 06:51 pm (UTC)
Thank you ;^;
vioskotty
Nov. 3rd, 2015 02:50 am (UTC)
As others have said please CALL paypal about resolving it instead of email, it may not be guaranteed but there have been better results in settling disputes that way. I do wish you the best of luck, the kind of language they responded back to you with was uncalled for with the constant insults and they hardly addressed possible fixes.
viothefoxbird
Nov. 3rd, 2015 06:52 pm (UTC)
Thanks for the suggestion. I may not like phone calls but I think in this situation I should do it!
darkunisha
Nov. 3rd, 2015 02:56 am (UTC)
Holy crap Batman that tone turned sharply like wow. My mouth fell slightly agape at the tone they were using and just how harsh they were being. That was completely uncalled for, sorry to see that you had to deal with that. :c

As for Paypal, I would make copies of all the e-mails that were sent between you and the commissioner, from the beginning to end and call Paypal, explain what happened. Send the e-mails if needed to explain, as well include the image to show that you had done the work.

Might want to include the breakdown of the price, anything that would strengthen your case. Wish you the best of luck, and I hope Paypal leans in your favor!
viothefoxbird
Nov. 3rd, 2015 06:53 pm (UTC)
Thanks for the suggestion!!
lackoflollies
Nov. 3rd, 2015 03:29 am (UTC)
Hoooooooooooooly shit.

Call Paypal ASAP!
wuvvumsoc
Nov. 3rd, 2015 04:08 am (UTC)
Geeze Louise that guy was unreasonably angry.
clockmagic
Nov. 3rd, 2015 05:18 am (UTC)
I'll be honest (so please take this with a grain of salt) even though he gave you the option to simplify it up, based on how simple it ended up becoming, nothing came off as semi-realistic in the end. So I don't know how you would have been able to really tackle this with him being satisfied. Too simple and it's not semi-realistic like he preferred and too complex and it would be too difficult for your makers to work with.

I mean in the end his tone was off the wall and he could have expressed himself in a much better way, but I don't know how you could have done this right either (maybe less stripes than the revised image but more than the toony one?).

I'm no pro in either category (art or costume making) it's just what I got off this.

Edited at 2015-11-03 05:22 am (UTC)
viothefoxbird
Nov. 3rd, 2015 06:54 pm (UTC)
Right, I feel like they're the kind of person who will never be satisfied.

But yes, there are better ways to express that you don't like something than straight up hostility. :(
digibat
Nov. 3rd, 2015 07:03 am (UTC)
Make sure to post this up so that he doesnt go commissioning some maker with the sheet since he didnt pay for it
fawkatronic
Nov. 3rd, 2015 08:20 am (UTC)
WOW!
From zero to a million in a second. Even after you said you would make changes and work with them to get what they were looking for they just continued on their angry tirade and insult flinging.
Beware WELL warranted.
(Deleted comment)
crystamartin
Nov. 3rd, 2015 02:20 pm (UTC)
Agreed. Artists aren't machines, they don't poop out art at a regular interval 24/7. I always expect artists to take a few weeks to do a piece and if I need it for a deadline, I make sure to be upfront with the artist about that required date - and give them reasonable time to do the art and meet that deadline.

Really, if he didn't specify a deadline, and it's clear he didn't from the post, 12 days is up there with the fastest turnarounds I've experienced.
(no subject) - kazeno_taka - Nov. 3rd, 2015 03:29 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - mistresswolf - Nov. 3rd, 2015 07:30 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - trentxandrew - Nov. 3rd, 2015 08:16 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - viothefoxbird - Nov. 3rd, 2015 06:45 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - teekchan - Nov. 3rd, 2015 10:02 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - wuvvumsoc - Nov. 3rd, 2015 10:24 pm (UTC) - Expand
likeshine
Nov. 3rd, 2015 02:09 pm (UTC)

Wow, that was really.... Aggressive. Beware super well warranted, I would never want to work for someone who spoke to another artist that way. Or another human being, really.

Sorry OP :(
kazeno_taka
Nov. 3rd, 2015 03:26 pm (UTC)
"I'm not intentionally trying to be a bitch here..."

Yet they continued spouting unnecessarily rude insults.

There are plenty of ways to be much more civil and polite when discussing why you're unhappy with a commission. Accusing the artist of 'scamming' them and 'jacking the price up' and 'spending 12 days for THAT level of work' is not constructive, it's insulting. Honestly it sounds to me like they never intended on having you fix the piece and let you keep the money in the first place - their tone drips of "I just want a refund".

That said, why would they expect you to create something in a different style than is in your previous examples? They said they expected "semi-realistic", even after they said "use your discretion" and "I trust your judgment". What did they expect? The art provided was the same style you've done before. Did they expect you to suddenly add full shading and a non-toony body? I feel like they were set to be disappointed from the start, not because of any fault of yours, but because they commissioned an artist with a style that didn't mesh with the image they had in their head.

Sorry you had to go through all this. Your responses were 100% professional and your adjustments on the commission - in my eyes - fixed the marking complaints they had. I hope you're able to reverse that chargeback, because you provided what you promised and that money is yours.

Edited at 2015-11-03 03:27 pm (UTC)
laughsatthunder
Nov. 3rd, 2015 04:57 pm (UTC)
Every time I read this I cringe a little more each time, beware well warranted. The language was so unnecessary.
Page 1 of 3
<<[1] [2] [3] >>
( 64 comments — Leave a comment )

Profile

A_B icon
artists_beware
Commissioner & Artist, Warning & Kudos Community

Community Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com