Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Is this legit?

So I got this email...



I think your designs would make a great addition to our toy portfolio.

My company, www.ntensify.com, creates limited edition toys and we would like to license and develop toys based on your designs. Our community design site can also be found at www.shouldbee.com where you can upload individual designs and have them made into toys.

You can see examples of our partners both detailed below and on our site. I've attached a sample of some of our work and can provide more as requested.

Magicka (Paradox Interactive - www.paradoxplaza.com )
* Sold over 1.3M copies worldwide

Dungeons of Dredmor (Gaslamp Games - www.gaslampgames.com )
* Indie Game of the Year for 2011 from PC Gamer US

I hope to be able to discuss further details with you if you're interested.

If you also know of other designers that we should partner with feel free to forward our information or let me know and I will follow up.




Daven Johnson

Director, Business Development




Email daven[at]ntensify.com


I was wondering if anyone else was contacted by the company or has worked with them? I could not find anything about them on the better business bureau. I'd be interested (since I absolutely adore designing things!), but I don't want it to end up as some sort of scam.


Community Tags:

Artist's beware has moved!
Do NOT repost your old bewares. They are being archived.


( 7 comments — Leave a comment )
Dec. 3rd, 2012 01:06 am (UTC)
I've never heard of them and I think it's a little fishy that it's so generic. Like, if they want to work with you, why not just state "we like that X you made, we want something like it"? They don't even have any real Google results-- it's just some DJ, a marketing company and a lot of Scrabble resources.
Dec. 3rd, 2012 01:12 am (UTC)
I'd say to ask them about details and payment. As long as they pay first and pay an alright amount of money, there shouldn't be much to worry about I'd think. Just make sure you cover your bases with a contract and whatnot.
Dec. 3rd, 2012 01:39 am (UTC)
Pretty much this. If they're legit, they'll be upfront about what they want and will do with. You may want to make your own alterations, but you'll figure out if they're legitimate very, very quickly.
Dec. 3rd, 2012 04:34 am (UTC)
I got that email too and checked out their website- looks like another Patch Together. I've been meaning to take a closer look, as I love the idea behind these sites for sure. I just don't have the money or manpower to mass-produce my own toys.
Dec. 3rd, 2012 11:44 am (UTC)
Oh I got that email too! I'm not sure if I should reply or not, the website seems legit though (tbh I'm just wondering where he got my email address in the first place).
Dec. 4th, 2012 03:47 pm (UTC)
While I do not think this is a scam, I would say do not do business with them.

Their email is generic, meaning they are not offering you either a permanent or contracted position. Job offers always start with your name, a personal, applicable to the situation, conversation and the specifics of the job offer usually in a pdf format so you can look over the offer/benefits/contract terms. (I know because I was offered to work on an iphone app once for my graphic design work, but I ended up rejecting the work since they had two other candidates and their company was too small for me to feel comfortable that I would get paid.)

THIS seems more like a nobody business just getting on its feet, which is offering a service TO YOU for you to use under the guise of actual 'work'. It's a 'if you get popular enough we will sell your toys and give you a percentage for each batch sold' type thing.

Which means no money up front for your work, no contracts, it's just 'click and submit here auto-agreeing to our ToS which probs has a clause in it that we can use your work at any time and claim it as our project'. So I would say no. While it's not an outright scam, I wouldn't trust such an unknown company with something as delicate as your professional reputation/starting point.
Dec. 9th, 2012 08:29 pm (UTC)
Ask the Dredmor developers directly via twitter or their forum, I'm sure they'd be happy to help if these guys are trying to ride on their coattails.

Also, I doubt the Magicka devs even did something with these guys. They barely speak English. XD
( 7 comments — Leave a comment )


A_B icon
Commissioner & Artist, Warning & Kudos Community
Artists Beware

Community Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com