Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Aug. 15th, 2011


This is just another "what should I do?" post. I've gotten an email from a company called ArtFlakes. It looks pretty legitimate, but it's always hard to tell for sure.

Screencaps of the emails:
Link that's in the email: http://www.artflakes.com/en/r/beitXTx9rskqlnWWwxVf

So, what do you think? There's a lot of emails like this that are actually scams. If it is real, do you think it would be worth putting my art on there? If so, how much of a percentage should I be doing?Edit:

A bit of an update now. After some time, I once again got another invitation email from them and it said to reply if we were interested or not. I replied asking for them to take me off they're mailing list/stop emailing me as I already told them I'm not interested. Few weeks later, I get ANOTHER invitation email. At this point, I'd say don't work with them, it's probably not a scam but it's disorganized and starting to turn into spam.
Artist's beware has moved!
Do NOT repost your old bewares. They are being archived.


( 22 comments — Leave a comment )
Aug. 16th, 2011 04:18 am (UTC)
Popped the name into Google. Seems to be that MANY DA people got this e-mail, so it's not especially exclusive. It may not be a scam, but it likely won't be worth your while either profit-wise.
Aug. 17th, 2011 05:55 pm (UTC)
I see what you mean now. I decided to tell them I decline, a few days ago, got a new email from them, which was the first they sent me in the first place. They're really not paying attention to who they're emailing.
Aug. 16th, 2011 04:23 am (UTC)
I just want to say that ArtFlakes is a terrible choice of name. XD
Aug. 16th, 2011 04:42 am (UTC)
It sounds like a very colourful cereal :9
Aug. 16th, 2011 04:51 am (UTC)
... Or a skin disease.
Aug. 16th, 2011 04:53 am (UTC)
omg D:
Aug. 16th, 2011 04:55 am (UTC)
Aug. 16th, 2011 05:06 am (UTC)
It's the condition traditional media artists get after decades of using toxic materials like oil paints and solvents, lol.
Aug. 16th, 2011 06:01 am (UTC)
I used to have a teacher in college who actually could not touch our artwork or materials because he had developed a sort of poisoning from using toxic art materials for years.
Aug. 16th, 2011 07:18 am (UTC)
Uh. I was going to just say that I'd had one like that too, except it turns out we've had the same teacher, heh. I go to ACCD, and the teacher in question was even having a reaction just being in a classroom between two painting studios.

Really nice guy though.
Aug. 16th, 2011 08:14 am (UTC)
Me too -- although mine only had reactions to markers, luckily for him.
Aug. 16th, 2011 09:34 am (UTC)
Now I want to make an off-brand cereal called WritingClusters.
Aug. 16th, 2011 08:19 am (UTC)
Aug. 16th, 2011 05:23 am (UTC)
I received this email as well. They are a legitimate gallery (or so my own search found at any rate), but spamming people with such an impersonal email doesn't really speak much for volumes of professionalism.
Aug. 16th, 2011 07:06 am (UTC)
I also received an e-mail from them. From the quick research I did (a few minutes with google basically) they seem legit, but I still wouldn't bother with them. I get the feeling that they're trying to get as many people under their label as possible and it just feels skeevy to me.
Aug. 17th, 2011 05:54 pm (UTC)
Wow, ya, I do too now. I declined with them and got a new fresh email about it. They're not paying attention at all of who they're emailing.
Aug. 16th, 2011 01:19 pm (UTC)
I also got this message. I would not bother with them.
Aug. 16th, 2011 01:23 pm (UTC)
Heres a thread on the subject from conceptart.org

Aug. 18th, 2011 02:17 am (UTC)
._. just got this email this morning. Wierd...I suggest reading the CA.org thread, some people have had replies from this mob.

I did remember getting an invite from another art site a long time ago...gods know what it was called through something lik artisian or something. *scratches head* shame I don't remember I'd look it up again.
(Deleted comment)
Aug. 18th, 2011 05:27 pm (UTC)
I was actually kind of wondering about that. I made my DA porfolio a long while ago and I don't remember having the email they sent it to, but I can't find it to check.
(Deleted comment)
Aug. 18th, 2011 06:24 pm (UTC)
I completely did too. Though, when I click on that arrow, I barely get any options. Is the Portfolio only for those who've paid for a prescription on DA? If so, I wonder where they found that porfolio if I can't even access it....
Carrie McCandless
Oct. 25th, 2011 07:03 pm (UTC)
I just got the same e-mail.. big iffy specially after the chad crap that flew around. Site looks like they do feature the artists though.. eh idk :/
( 22 comments — Leave a comment )


A_B icon
Commissioner & Artist, Warning & Kudos Community
Artists Beware

Community Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com