Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Feb. 8th, 2008

Just a heads up to let folks know that the Furbid scammers mentioned in a previous post some time back are still at large on the site.

From: Stella Schiffer [mailto:stella_oya04@yahoo.com]
Sent: Friday, 8 February 2008 2:04 AM
To: **********

Hello and how are you doing today.....this is to let you know that i am extremely interested buying your item on behalf of my client manager in the REPUBLIC OF BENIN,I am using this opportunity to let you know that the item is going to my client manager in the REPUBLIC OF BENIN(Africa),he will be making payment for your item via Money Orders but before the Money Orders is finally mailed out to you,i want you to clearly understand that the amount on it will be more than your item fees because the payment has already been signed for by my client manager in Africa and it cannot be corrected or re-negotiated by his bank.....so you will deduct your item fees from the payment as soon as you receive it and then WESTERN UNION back the (overage amount)remainder balance money to my client manager in Africa.

He will be fully responsible for the pick-up and shipment of the item via his UPS ACCOUNT after you have WESTERN UNION back the (overage amount)remainder balance money to him in Africa,so you simply don't have to worry about the item pick-up or shipping,all you need do is just help get it properly packaged.....Now kindly email me back as quickly as possible today with your FULL NAME,HOME ADDRESS and MOBILE PHONE NUMBER,so that the Money Orders payment for your item can be mailed out to you this week unfailingly from my client manager in Africa.....Below are the important questions i needed from you now .....YOUR FULL NAME,HOME ADDRESS AND MOBILE PHONE NUMBER......so please and please i will be waiting for your responce back now,Stella....

The username was 'stella_oya'. From what I could see on the forums, someone else encountered a similar scammer under the username 'stella_y' who I assume is already banned. I've reported thie buyer to Furbid, but there is probably still others.

So keep a weather eye out, folks, I'd hate to hear of someone getting suckered in by this scam, although, I don't think any of us are going to fall for that anytime soon, cos we all smart and stuff :)

What I would like to make people aware of, however, is that the winning bid confirmation emails send the seller's address to the buyer. So some mean old scammer has my address, and probably the address of anyone else whose items they've falsely bid on. At the moment I don't really know if there's anything anyone can do about that. Possibly the better idea may be to make your address on the site a PO Box if you have one, which will at least keep these dishonest folks from getting a hold of your home address.

That said, if there's a way to stop that happening that I'm too blind to see, I'd love it if someone could pretty please let me know :) Thanks!
Artist's beware has moved!
Do NOT repost your old bewares. They are being archived.


( 7 comments — Leave a comment )
(Deleted comment)
Feb. 9th, 2008 02:51 am (UTC)
Augh it's terrible. Mine ended at $110 and I was happy for a whole day about I got the email from them. And as soon as I saw it my reaction was 'oh WHUT? Scammer! No fair!'

I mentioned the concern about addresses in the email I sent to Ayukawa and they didn't correct me so I don't know what's up with that. But yeah, I received a 'copy' of the furbid message in the email from this 'Stella', and it had my address in it. A family member has a PO box that I can use once I get the number, but not everyone has one of those. I know there's not much sense closing the gate after the horse has bolted, but I'll still change it to prevent anyone else getting the address that I really don't want to have it.
Feb. 9th, 2008 02:34 am (UTC)

Seriously, there's bulletins on the internet about how scammers use UPS accounts and western union. -_-;;;

Don't people keep up with this stuff?
Feb. 9th, 2008 02:58 am (UTC)
Oh I didn't fall for anything - I recognised the scam as soon as I saw the email. But I didn't get the email until after the person bought my auction with the BIN, and Furbid sends automated messages with your personal contact information which to my knowledge cannot be prevented to winning buyers, which is the reason for the note of concern at the bottom of my post.
I do expect that most people do know about this scam, but it never hurts to put out that extra warning :)
Feb. 9th, 2008 08:29 am (UTC)
Yeah but I think they close auctions, so it's a pain in the ass.
Especially if it already had bids.
Feb. 9th, 2008 02:53 am (UTC)
Stella_me is another one of the scam accounts. I've been hit by two separate ones in the last week.
Feb. 9th, 2008 09:44 am (UTC)
Try FurBuy.com - The only contact info we give out in the Winning Bid email is your email address, unless you specify a custom personal message to be automatically added.
Feb. 26th, 2008 04:52 am (UTC)
omg i got that same person an emails an everything.i hate those ppl
( 7 comments — Leave a comment )


A_B icon
Commissioner & Artist, Warning & Kudos Community
Artists Beware

Community Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com