Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

a stupid question about legitmate things

I am asking if this community has a 'sister community' where artists can ensure weird emails they get are from legtimate sources.

once myself and some others got emails for some fantasy website or magazeen saying they would like our art in it. This is the purpose of this topic, for seeing if some of these things are real and honest and not having any malintent.

I just got an email from omma@omma.us, with the topic message being "Include your art in the Art Book "International Contemporary Masters 200", so is this some kind of con or some thing safe? here is some copypasted content. Is this just an advertising?

"a global art book edited and published by Omma Center of Contemporary Art. www.omma.us

Artists should apply by sending at least 5 JPG images by email or their website address.
If the artist is selected, will be notified within 5 working days.
Place and availability in the book are subject to quality. All submissions are subject to acceptance."

the selection

Submit free for selection. Our art committee will review all submissions and make decisions on acceptance.

After notification of acceptance an inclusion fee is required.


The participation fee in $ USD might change according to daily rates. Please visit http://www.xe.com/ucc/ to convert currency

The page of each artist will contain the image of an artwork, a short biography, the website URL and contact information of the artist.

A. For one page 350.00 Euros or US $ 467.00

B. For two pages the cost is 550.00 Euros or $ 735.00 USD.

C. For four pages the cost is 900 Euros or $ 1,200.00 USD

D. For five pages 1,100 Euros or $1,470.00 USD

The artists will receive one free copy of the catalogue."

If they want to buy extra catalogues, they will get a 20% discount, unless
Artist's beware has moved!
Do NOT repost your old bewares. They are being archived.


( 14 comments — Leave a comment )
Apr. 20th, 2007 09:18 pm (UTC)
A legitimate publisher pays the artist money in order to use their art

If they're asking YOU to pay THEM, then it's not a "real" art book, it's just a money making scheme like poetry.com or any of the other vanity press.
Apr. 20th, 2007 09:30 pm (UTC)
Yup. It's like those "Who's Who" books for schoolage kids.
Apr. 20th, 2007 09:37 pm (UTC)
Oh yeah! I have one of those things! My mom thought it was awesome that I qualified for it, so she bought it. *laughs* So I have a massive volume in which my name, gpa, and a tiny paragraph about my accomplishments appears in 10pt font. I'm so special!
Apr. 21st, 2007 12:05 am (UTC)
oh my god, i thought i was the only one with parents stupid enough to buy into that crap. i cringed every time it was mentioned, lol.
Apr. 20th, 2007 10:24 pm (UTC)
Or the poetry ones where everyone gets their poetry included but they have to buy the book to see it. The publisher gets both content and customers with minimal effort, so no wonder they do it.

These 'pay for submittion' things are not always scams, but I would certainly never accept one that randomly trolls for artists. Good ones have people flocking to give stuff to them and don't need to solicit.
(Deleted comment)
Apr. 20th, 2007 10:41 pm (UTC)
Ah. I'm not familiar with Aether d'animeaux, I'm a costumer not an illustrator.

But this doesn't appear to be an advertising sort of thing, unless the translation is very poor. It calls itself an "art book."

Do such illustration annuals send out unsolicited advertisements like this?
(Deleted comment)
Apr. 20th, 2007 10:58 pm (UTC)
I'm one of the few artists to be accepted for Aether d'Animaux and the creator behind it has been nothing but professional. Many 'big name' artists of high quality work such as Heather Bruton, Rog Minotaur and Ultraviolet are all on board with this project.

It's a shame that so many seem to be naysaying it since it's positive media for a much maligned subculture.
(Deleted comment)
Apr. 21st, 2007 12:30 am (UTC)
a misunderstanding on my part there then :)
Apr. 20th, 2007 09:26 pm (UTC)
Oh, COME ON. This is such an old scam that if you can't recognize it, you deserve to have your money taken.

Look,it says right there that they want to take your money, $465 per page. It's a scam.
Apr. 20th, 2007 09:27 pm (UTC)
Reeks of scammyness!
Apr. 20th, 2007 09:30 pm (UTC)
It sounds like an Artist Workbook, where artists pay to have their work included with the hope they'll attract clients that way. I've seen lots of those books, but they're usually used by professional and corperate illustrators, not furry artists. I'd take a pass.
Apr. 20th, 2007 09:47 pm (UTC)
It probably isn't a scam insofar as that they will actually print your stuff if you pay them; however, nobody's actually taking these pay-for-inclusion books serious, so you could just as well burn your money - it'd have the same effect. :P
Apr. 20th, 2007 11:42 pm (UTC)
I agree with the others, I give it a 95% chance of being a scam.
Apr. 21st, 2007 07:28 am (UTC)
Jesus CHRIST! what cheap prices!
honestly, with that money you can soon publish yourself in your own book. YOu can buy a prime add on google or whattheheckever just dont feed this cheater...
Its like the dragonart page wanting one of my sculptures on their so tiiinyteeny sales page for "just one grand". My most expensive sculpture ever was 700$, so do the math....
quite honestly, somewhere this is an insult. Do they think we inhale our oilcolors and get that stupid to believe this?
( 14 comments — Leave a comment )


A_B icon
Commissioner & Artist, Warning & Kudos Community
Artists Beware

Community Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com