?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

 LJ Cut for Sanity of Friends List Reasons.

Ok a little back story. This is the accounts of my personal dealings with the artist BusyCat (Rebecca)

Back During RCFM06 in May I commisioned an artwork piece of my dragon character from BushyCat in the dealers room, She advised to me that she could not complete it by the end of the con and we agreed upon delivering the finished Art during MFM06 in September. I was fine with that as it would give her roughly 4 months to complete. It was to be a Simple One Charcter Full Page Color with No Background. I got her card and would email her the details of the commision since I did not have a sample copy to give her.

After RCFM I emailed her on 06/01/2006 I included a description and a reference picture of my dragon My Email below

Hey BushyCat this is Khir Moonclaw, i got a commision from ya at RCFM and was just emailing you what I would like and a couple sample pics.
 
The art was one charcater / color / No background.
 
Its a Dragon Character with Wings Denim Blue in color / black tummy and black inner wings,
Yellowish/Orange eyes.
 
For the pose I would like a tough guy kinda pose with his arms crossed and a big grin on his face, basically standing there saying bring it on!
 
Ive included a version of the dragon that another artist drew so you can sorta get an idea.
 
Thanks again and let me know if you need anything else!!! Thanks
 
Khir

After some time I did not receive any response from her so I re-forwarded the email back to her. I did not hear a response until Mid Summer that statted she had been out of town at a lot of various cons as well as my email had landed in her spam box and that she would have it for MFM for me. At that time there was no other emails sent.

Fast Forward to MFM I met up with her to pick up the art and It was not completed. She had asked if I already had paid, She had no recollection of me purchasing a commission from her. So She wrote the info down again at MFM and I told her that I would send her another email with the details so she could finish the artwork and mail it to me.

After MFM I emailed her on 09/09/2006 to remind her.

Hey BushyCat
 
Khir Moonclaw here, I commisoned you back during RCFM for some art and also talked with you briefly at MFM, I was supposed to pick up the art at MFM but it wasnt ready. You told me to email you to remind you.
 
It was a solo piece of my charcter / Full page color, If I remember right I think I paid around $35-40 for it.
 
Just let me know, Ive included a copy of the reciept and an image of my charcter  (blue winged dragon / black hair / gotee)
 
Thanks
-Khir

I recieved no response to this email as well. I Re-forwarded this email on 09/18  09/29  10/25  11/1  11/5. Using the same email but I used Different Email address to send this to her because I remember her saying My Orignal mail was going to her Spam box. I also sent an email from my work address incase my personal ones were being blocked I do not remember the date off hand of those since im not at work to look.

After My Last Email to her 11/5 I recieved this response on 11/10



This piece will be finished after MFF.

I would explain to you again why *all* commisionwork this summer was delayed - not *just* yours -   But it's pointless for me to keep saying it.

Sending 4, 5, 8 whatever emails in a row and badgering an artist will not encourage that artist to "hurry up". It only causes further delay and irritation. Give me a few weeks of peace, and you will have your artwork. This month, I have had 3 conventions out of town. It is a very full schedule.

Please stop hassling me, and permit me to get on with my work. Just so you know....  Folks who badger me for art end up waiting behind those that are patient and polite. If you can refrain from bothering me for the next 28 days, you will recieve your artwork within that time.

Believe me, I want this commission out of my hair. It *will* be completed and delivered to you. When it is ready to ship, I will email and confirm your current shipping adress so it goes to the right place.


Please do not reply to this email.

BushyCat


Needless to say I was very shocked by this email.. A person that I paid to do work for telling me one that im pestering or badgering them with a few emails as well as openly telling me people who pester her gets there work pushed out. Not only is that unprofessional but very rude.  Even though I was very upset by this level of service I was being provided I did just as she requested because she gave me an update.. I did not send another email to her.

MFF came and went I saw her there but I did not even speak to her so I would not seem like im bothering her. I received an Email from her on 11/25 saying that the artwork would be completed and shipped between 11/30-12/04 as well as requesting my home address. I quickly responded and provided the said information.

On 11/29 I received an Email advising that my Artwork had been sent along with another rude comment from her asking me about if all my fuss was really worth it.

As far as I was concerned I was glad that this nightmare was soon to be over with.

Fast Foward to today 12/02

I received the artwork today which can be seen here Along with an hand written note from her which I find appauling  here.

I am simply disgusted with the work performed by her. For Reference here is the orignal sample I sent her  (Sample)

Anyone can read my description and see my reference I sent and see many things wrong with the picture. I know different artists are going to have there own style of drawing but these are blatent errors. The main things of course being the color and pose of my character are wrong.

At this point in my dealings with her its more of a princple issue then it is the money or the bad art. I do not recommend her for any artwork and I post this here to hopefully save someone from having to go through what I did.  Her claims of my rudeness and being impatient with her when I honestly dont feel that I was. She blamed the delay on a flood which in all honesty must not have been a very devastating thing since she went to several cons during that time.

I could honestly go on and on about this but I feel that I have made my point. And I hope that others see this and spread this to others as well about her way of dealing with her paying customers.

-Respecfully
Khir Moonclaw


*Update* 12/4/06

I received an email from BushyCat..

"True, you did land in my Spam box. True, delays happened to all my customers this summer and fall. True, I did make it to several conventions this year. Did you think your order demanded precedent over everyone else's? There were people in the Que ahead of you. It's more fair to fill orders in the order in which they are recieved. Or perhaps you thought your piece was so important, it should knock me out of doing the conventions I had reserved space at a year in advance? Should I have cancelled AnthroCon, family gatherings, Otakon, MFM and MFF for you? I should think not.

Funny how you did leave *my* mailbox alone after I asked you to give me some peace in November. That much, I appreciate. Yet you apparently raged at RCFM staff again during that time. That doesn't exactly put you on the good list.

Doesn't matter.
So long as you stay out of my hair, I am satisfied.

I didn't say this before, But I do hope in all sincerity that the artwork you got is what you wanted. I try to keep all my customers satisfied.

Sometimes, circumstances and personalities work to make it otherwise.

I consider this matter concluded.

Rebecca"


Funny thing.. She just does not understand that its not a time issue with me. Its her poor attitude. and the "Raging to RCFM staff again" Was me emailing the head of the dealers den room asking what I paid for the commission in total because It didnt say on the receipt with the taxes.


And also just received another email..


"I worked off the artwork you sent me - as a reference. The emails I recieved from you were a copy of the order form from RCFM, and the artwork of your character. I also had the written description of the order from the convention itself.
Do I need to send *you* the picture you sent me as a reference?

You asked for a tasteful nude of your blue dragon character - who had a goatee and wings. That is what I sent. What's wrong with what I sent you?

I can't believe you.....!!

I'll never draw for a dragon again."

Community Tags:

Artist's beware has moved!
Do NOT repost your old bewares. They are being archived.
https://artistsbeware.info/

Comments

( 175 comments — Leave a comment )
Page 1 of 4
<<[1] [2] [3] [4] >>
drake_anaya
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:02 am (UTC)
...did she honestly not think to send you a quick "thanks, I got your email" note before going off and complaining that you were harassing her? Holy cakemuffins.
khirmoonclaw
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:15 am (UTC)
In all honesty thats All I really wanted.. I quick Update would have been very apprecaited.
joecifur
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:14 am (UTC)
I understand bad things can happen and delay an artist, etc, etc et al. But-- Ugh. How incredibly fricking unprofessional and rude. I don't care how much you dislike a customer, how much you went through or how much you dislike their "badgering" -- if it's such an issue, DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH THEM. Writing a twitty little note to include with the order is cowardly, twerpy and completely uncalled for.
khirmoonclaw
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:17 am (UTC)
I agree 100% I can definatley understand hardships or delays. Its a part of life. And Ive had longer delays from other artists out there but they were kind enough to send a simple email or even call me when I requested for an update.

I have worked in Customer Service for 15+ Years and have dealt with the public that long, If I would have acted in this way I would not have a job.
(no subject) - evol - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:56 pm (UTC) - Expand
space_mutt
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:16 am (UTC)
I agree that this is total and utter bullshit on her part. No self-respecting artist would ever treat their customer that way, especially over so little. It's expected that, after 6 months and NO communication on her part, you'd begin to get antsy. But your e-mails never got accusatory or rude, and you did exactly what she asked you to. It's absolutely ridiculous that she'd talk to you that way, intentionally ruin your commission, and write such an off-the-wall letter to you ontop of it.

You know I commission as many people as possible, but I can tell you right now, she is never gettin her paws on my sketchbook.
khirmoonclaw
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:27 am (UTC)
I agree. Ive never been treated this way as a customer before and this is one of the reasons why I dont like approaching an artist I do not know because im afraid something like this weill happen.
emlan
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:21 am (UTC)
Oh my god this is nasty, that note is just plain ridiculous.
Did you ever get any "I got your email" replis, because if not, damn.
khirmoonclaw
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:24 am (UTC)
The Only reply I got was the original saying that my first emails where in her spam box and then the one posted above..

coyotewings
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:24 am (UTC)
That letter IS very appauling...jeez. O.o;

I'm seriously sorry you had to deal with that.
khirmoonclaw
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:25 am (UTC)
Thank you. I just hope that this will help the community and let others know before they possibly have to deal with the same thing I did..
zyleeth
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:29 am (UTC)
Sounds like you kept your cool through all that BS. Kudos to you. :)

BushyCat...I'll remember that name and be sure not to commission her in the future.
rakshepsaar
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:36 am (UTC)
...Oh my gods. If everything did indeed go as you claim, she had no right at all to speak to you as she did. Her art is incredibly substandard considering the price you paid, and it is every commissioner's right to request status updates from time to time - especially if it's been as long as you say.

I'm sorry you had that experience.
khirmoonclaw
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:48 am (UTC)
Yup I agree, if she would have only replied to the first update request the follow up emails never would have been sent..

I make sure to always keep documenation of everything I do. I have my orignal receipt from RCFM along with all my emails to her and the few ones I got back from her.
caishide
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:36 am (UTC)
i just... cannot wrap my mind around HOW she could have interpreted your actions as such. is it at all possible that you WERE recieving replies from her but they were being sent to spam? i am in NO way defending her appalling behavior, but there has got to be SOME reason why she seems to think she was so harassed.

the note was WAY over the top, jesus christ. i just... have no words. how old is she?
space_mutt
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:39 am (UTC)
I believe she's in her mid 40's.
(no subject) - grimmhooke - Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:47 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - sicpuppy - Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:49 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - caishide - Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:55 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - khirmoonclaw - Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:44 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - caishide - Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:56 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - khirmoonclaw - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:00 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - rakshepsaar - Dec. 3rd, 2006 06:28 am (UTC) - Expand
grimmhooke
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:47 am (UTC)
Wow, just wow. I could understand her being angry about all the e-mails you sent her, but you had a right to send them if she didn't even bother to send a quick "Hey, I got your e-mail" note. You were extremely polite in your e-mails, yet she still called it a "festering, miserable experience" to work with you. Was sending that note with your piece really necessary, especially the that sort of a closing remark? What a jerk. :/

I applaud your patience for this sort of unprofessional behavior. Three out-of-town conventions or not, she certainly had two minutes to run to the public computer that every motel has nowadays and type "I got your e-mail" in a letter to you so you would stop worrying.
crssafox
Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:01 am (UTC)
she certainly had two minutes to run to the public computer that every motel has nowadays

Yep, after all, she had the time to use the free paper provided by the hotel! :P
(no subject) - grimmhooke - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:03 am (UTC) - Expand
sicpuppy
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:52 am (UTC)
That picture....it just....it doesn't look anything like your character! And its not remotely in the pose you described! If I was gonna charge someone $40 for a commission, I wouldn't have the BALLS to send them something that was fuck all like their character in such a huge way.
Hell, I freak out if I place one spot in the wrong place or one splodge of marking isn't big enough!

Its almost like she had a generic dragon pic hanging about and just tweaked it a little then sent it to you claiming it was her drawing of your character.
caishide
Dec. 3rd, 2006 02:57 am (UTC)
i was thinking the exact same thing, actually

and i cannot BELIEVE she'd charge $40 for... that.
i'd charge about $15 for something so uninvolved, personally
(no subject) - grimmhooke - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:01 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - space_mutt - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:02 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - caishide - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:14 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - caishide - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:16 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - grimmhooke - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:20 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - khirmoonclaw - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:29 am (UTC) - Expand
flag
Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:05 am (UTC)
What a tool. :| Sorry you had to go through all of that, given that she had plenty of opportunity to contact you back and not leave you in the dark. And the art itself? Totally not worth $40 nor all of the crap she gave you.
wolvenillusion
Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:16 am (UTC)
The way she handled this is atrocious. And the finished product looks NOTHING like your character. On top of that, I sure as hell would not call that 40 dolar range quality work. ugh. Sorry you had to deal with that. her little letter was pretty nasty, too.
fyrefang
Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:18 am (UTC)
This is just going past plain rude and going far into being hateful..

Knowing of several others that commissioned her at RCFM and haven't heard a single thing back, not responding seems to be pretty common from her. I honestly hope that con ops see this and disallow this ripoff from setting up shop. I know I wont be doing business with her.

I'm really sorry you had to deal with this hun
moonstone_wind
Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:22 am (UTC)
Wow, she was really nice to me with my badge commish at MFM and had helped me out with Yerich when he got gunk in his fur at MFM 05... this makes me leery to do any further work with her. Im sorry you had to deal with it Fyre, I can attest that you are a WONDERFUL COMMISSIONER. You as far as I can see in the information provide did not deserve this. You were very paitent with me when I was doing art for you and I know you would do the same again. Next year we gotta hang more ok? :)
vakkotaur
Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:36 am (UTC)

In person she's generally quite nice. With larger (sketchbook) commissions... my experience is akin to Khir's, as I've posted below.

(no subject) - teekachu - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:45 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - khirmoonclaw - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:50 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - teekachu - Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:54 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - moonstone_wind - Dec. 3rd, 2006 06:40 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - moonstone_wind - Dec. 3rd, 2006 06:40 am (UTC) - Expand
skulldog
Dec. 3rd, 2006 03:30 am (UTC)
Man, it's like everything that could go wrong went wrong. But what really gets me is you waited that long for something that was just plain wrong. I mean, reading the description, it's not that hard to figure out, and she missed ALL the points. If I know I'm going to be taking a little extra time on a commission, I at least try to really make it extra awesome.

Sorry you had to put up with that. D:
Page 1 of 4
<<[1] [2] [3] [4] >>
( 175 comments — Leave a comment )

Profile

A_B icon
artists_beware
Commissioner & Artist, Warning & Kudos Community
Artists Beware

Community Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com