?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

Who: Rachverity


Where: http://www.furaffinity.net/user/rachverity/
https://trello.com/b/kDddOtiK/commissions-list



What: Digital Art Commissions. Purchased many commissions (23 in total - $915.30 USD) that nearly all were very behind in set deadlines. When inquiring/complaining about missed deadlines, artist chose to no longer work with me and prompted for a refund and block.



When: Problems started August 2014. Escalated from there. End result (refund) has yet to be started or finished.



Proof: (Note: All pieces were paid for, but not all were given details for. I purchased the slot/commission to be done at a later date. This was mostly due to wanting to give away a full commission as gifts and to lessen the over head work load of Rachverity. I will do my best to show what was purchased, what had details, what never got done, and what was finished.)


1) One 2-character soft shade with background dance piece: Completed without incident. https://www.dropbox.com/s/b8pc7oeroaswd1e/pp1.jpg?dl=0

2) First art bundle : https://www.dropbox.com/s/2xtkofx6p0jtkc0/First%20bundle%20purchase.png?dl=0 https://www.dropbox.com/s/rm7uijheut3b9sz/pp2.jpg?dl=0
2a) Comic - incomplete (details given). Extra pages paid for: https://www.dropbox.com/s/2l5lgu7m1srkxui/pp4.jpg?dl=0
2b) two 2-chracter soft shade with background - never started (no details given)
2c) Character sheet - incomplete (details given)
3d) six icons - 1 completed, 2 incomplete (details given), 3 never started (no details given)

3) 1 3-character cell shade with background. Details sent for a 2 character piece. incomplete. https://www.dropbox.com/s/6u44tf0a82bviga/pp3.jpg?dl=0

4) Second Art Bundle - https://www.dropbox.com/s/uu567x7pseqeaaw/art%20bundle%202.jpg?dl=0. https://www.dropbox.com/s/e069sow9scmqxtq/pp5.jpg?dl=0
4a) five (up to) 6-character soft shaded with background. Never started (no details given)

5) Third Art Bundle - https://www.dropbox.com/s/ttn935xexz1d730/bundle%203.jpg?dl=0. Sister package to prior art bundle that did not sell. This one offered a guaranteed Halloween themed 2 character soft shade that will be done by Halloween. https://www.dropbox.com/s/t9c410ljxnm11jv/pp6.jpg?dl=0
5a) One 2-character soft shade with background for Halloween. Details Given. Deadline missed by nearly 30 days. Requested for it to be changed to a Christmas piece. Request accepted. Completed.
5b) Five (up to) 6-character soft shaded with background.
5b1) extra characters paid for to be added for guaranteed New years eve party. https://www.dropbox.com/s/9qzbbb2kyexgxog/pp7.jpg?dl=0
5b2) 6 character raffle winner. incomplete (details given)
5b3) 5 character Raffle winner. Incomplete (details given)
5b4) three (up to) 6-character soft shaded with background never started (no details given)

6) Tip/expedite payment. https://www.dropbox.com/s/3shp0ca6hbrje19/ppex.jpg?dl=0 (look at note in payment)
18th October 2014 Rachverity said publicly that she still needed more money shortly after selling the two prior bundles. https://www.dropbox.com/s/6ys81z4bh0unywn/help.jpg?dl=0
24th October 2014 Rachverity said publicly that she was still giving low cost art and (maybe) was going to start raising prices. https://www.dropbox.com/s/nntjqv9fiw8lnq9/help2.jpg?dl=0 I personally felt a bit bad for getting so much art for such a low cost so I talked to her privately and offered to help without buying more art. This had no issues until into 2015 when I brought up that she missed another deadline even after I paid her this extra money. With the wording (seen later in AB post), I considered it a expedite payment as Rachverity considered it a tip. Thus the discrepancy whether it was a tip or expedite payment. Ultimately this discrepancy is now moot due to the forced unpaid refund.




Explain:

Back in August of 2014, Rachverity put out a journal offering a large art bundle due to need of funds. I had commissioned her once before and had an amazing experience (http://www.furaffinity.net/view/12486045/). I decided to talk to Rachverity about it since a large thing I wanted was the comic. But I wanted a longer story comic done. She told me that I could purchase additional pages at the discounted rate. With this, I purchased the initial bundle and paid for it immediately. The said artwork was to be done before December 2014. Although the comic, due to it being longer from extra pages purchased, would be started but may not be finished by the end of 2014.

Rachverity, still in need of money for a few of the next months, put out more art bundles and open commissions. Seeing her in need, I helped out more. Purchasing two $200 art bundles and a few other things. I also gave an extra $100 to have my pieces expedited ( https://www.dropbox.com/s/3shp0ca6hbrje19/ppex.jpg?dl=0). Rachverity and I conflicted later after some missed deadlines that this extra money was a tip. I also purchased extra character slots for a New Year's Eve piece to be done by the first of the year.

Signs of first problem: I gave a few commission details to Rachverity, but no set dates. In early October, I gave details for a free (for purchasing the bundles) "guaranteed" 2 character Halloween piece. This was accepted by Rachverity to be done by Halloween. She told me after the deadline was missed that she was slightly behind. I understood and gave more time. After Thanksgiving, I decided to cancel the piece and request a Christmas piece in replacement to have a due date of Christmas.

The New Years Eve piece was set in stone in November to be done by the first of the year. She accepted and I paid for extra characters to be added to the piece. On the 2nd of January 2015 I requested to have the expedited payment be refunded. I was told no because it was a "tip" and thus hers to keep. I understand the confusion, even though I was quite upset, and I did not fight it much more (https://www.dropbox.com/s/vrl1imvaz3wxf0z/expedite.jpg?dl=0).

Later on the 2nd of January 2015, myself and few others had a skype group conversation with Rachverity. This was an intervention of sorts as the last waning minutes of our friendships. I can not provide this private conversation, but after this Rachverity got very angry with us (myself and other friends trying to help). This is where I learned that she had roughly 200 paid for open commissions. By the end, she would not budge on any subjects and, incidentally, some nasty words were exchanged.

A few days after this, Rachverity blocked skype contact with me. I understood this and tried to only deal with her over my own art matters from there on out.

On Jan 7th 2015 I asked for a WIP of this overdue piece. (https://www.dropbox.com/s/gh41oha3c99s7u0/wipparty1.jpg?dl=0)
I received a response shortly after: (https://www.dropbox.com/s/leaglrkhzxx0cld/wipparty2.jpg?dl=0) I found out that she was missing some of the details of the commission and that there was another large(r) commission due for new years as well that was also missed deadline wise.

I waited 15 days and on an 22nd 2015, I requested another WIP. Rachverity seemed to be set on an accusation I had made during the group conversation 20 days earlier about how she 'did not care about her commissioners and/or watchers.'

The notes were not back and forth, but rather I came back to several notes sent to be without a response. All the links of this conversation are put in time stamp order.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/9xc5gi6p1s15t3u/AACg-zMQtlSBe1N1NqKf-hIha?dl=0

Some notes about the conversation above:
-A fellow friend and commissioner that has 6 open commissions with Rachverity offered a proposal due to their thinking that Rachverity will ultimately not finish the commissions. This proposal was to have 3 of their commissions done by the end of March 2015 and forfeit the other three, no refunds to be paid out. (Yes, I have permission to reveal this information and themselves, but I am still going to hold and block out their name for integrity purposes)
- The 10 pages of comic to be done by the beginning of the year was due to Rachverity wanting to change her comic style to that of "Wolfy-Nail". Where there would be 1-3 panels to a page. Since I bought the comic for 6-9 panels per page, the number of pages increased so that agreed upon story could still be told. I was paid to 14 pages, and more would cost me at the time of discovery that more pages were needed. If less where needed, some alternate images would be done like a cover image or such. The option for the older style comics with more panels per page was still available and preferred.


I originally had counted that I paid Rachverity $848.41. This was a mistake as seen above with all of my paypal receipts. I also did not want to include the first commission ($30) since that one was done. I wanted the amount in full returned since the only two pieces done so far was a free incentive piece for one of her bundles that she did not sell (The Halloween piece that was never done and had to be changed to a Christmas piece due to a 30 day missed deadline) and an icon that was done nearly 2.5 months after the raffle was finished (http://www.furaffinity.net/journal/6175294/ http://www.furaffinity.net/view/15484943/)

Rachverity denied this request for a full refund and instead said she was going to refund me $800. I was a little upset, but understood and accepted this amount. https://www.dropbox.com/sh/l6jq2cjswjadbrn/AAAW5HAjM-fjwExUuEhN0w9ga?dl=0

I asked about a time for the refund to take place and Rachverity would not talk to me, only her manager would through Rachverity's account. https://www.dropbox.com/s/m0sjhbqt9da057l/refund%202.jpg?dl=0

On March 2nd 2015, before any artist beware post was put up about Rachverity, I offered the artist the ability to take back the commissions in full or partial: https://www.dropbox.com/s/3znizi8vnrmjap7/Offer1.jpg?dl=0
Rachverity responded angrily about asking for the refund and, again, was told that I would be blocked for asking about it on grounds of harassment: https://www.dropbox.com/s/sxblkotz2xh33jn/offer2.jpg?dl=0

I tried to leave out most of the argumentative parts between us on a personal level and tried to keep it to just the business facts.


Still to this day, I do not have an approximate time of when refund will be paid.

I no longer recommend this artist.

Thank you for your time.

Community Tags:

Before commenting, please read our Community Rules.
Do not go after persons posted about here, by leaving comments on their art pages.
If you have been posted about, please read I've Been Posted on Artists_Beware, Now What?

Comments

( 43 comments — Leave a comment )
celestinaketzia
Mar. 5th, 2015 10:44 pm (UTC)
mod note
Okay, we don't normally leave these kinds of notes but given the very bad blood between you two we believe it is imperative to do so.

Rach is more than welcome to come and comment here, however we will freeze comment chains where you two devolve into fighting and name calling. Please do not do that, and let's keep relations as civil as possible.
stolf
Mar. 5th, 2015 11:10 pm (UTC)
Re: mod note
Thank you very much. I would prefer it this way as well.
celestinaketzia
Mar. 5th, 2015 11:43 pm (UTC)
I'm going to be commenting as an artist, and as a member of the community now. It astounds me as to how much Rach is undercharging that it's almost painful to see. For my own curiosity I calculated the cost of this much work in my prices and got around $8,700.

Rach really just needs to up her prices everywhere as this is getting her nowhere fast. She keeps piling work onto work onto work, and is making probably pennies on the hour.

I really hope that she refunds you asap, but moreover that she stops and takes a look at how this business is operating. It's not working. From a business perspective she's losing vast amounts of money. I know from a client's perspective seeing five (potentially) 6 character images plus a bunch of goodies for $200 seems like a tantalizing deal, but stop and ask at what cost is it going to come from.

Edit: Though I should add that it is really bad form to keep payment for "freebies" that were thrown into an order. If Rach hasn't begun work on the items that were officially paid for, then they need to be refunded.

Edited at 2015-03-05 11:58 pm (UTC)
sacch
Mar. 5th, 2015 11:45 pm (UTC)
I'm not defending the artist, not in the slightest. The backlog is outrageous.

But I'm boggling. It was obvious she was severely undercharging (for the 6-character piece in particular, as well as additional comic pages at a discounted rate); and you continued to commission this person despite incomplete work and the rise of problems? I feel like you severely took advantage of the prices and the undercharging.

Again- I'm not defending the artist. There's no excuse for such a HUGE backlog, but I just fail to see why, despite problems and incomplete work, that you continued to give the artist money. The artist bit off more than they could chew, no doubt, but with such low prices it was kind of enabled.

Also... I would recommend specifying whether you paid for an expedite fee or a tip. Don't give an artist a choice of "either or" especially when they have a growing backlog, have incomplete work, and are taking advantage of you in turn. I honestly feel that was a huge mistake on your part, as an artist who has EXPERIENCED someone not specifying and then trying to accuse me of stealing. Artists are not mind readers. Put your foot down and specify- that's not a donation, you paid for your art to be delivered to you at an expedited speed.
stolf
Mar. 5th, 2015 11:59 pm (UTC)
Fully agreed. As you can see, I bought the first bundle which was something that didnt seem odd. She then put out the others and I picked them up. I understand that they were a great deal and ultimately undercharged. This is is why I paid $80 for adding 4 characters to a single piece (double what the initial 6 essentially cost). This is why I also stopped purchasing any more art at all after october. And why I wanted to pay her extra for my current commissioned work. She had open YCH's/commissions at that time. I chose not to take more art offers because of this very reason.

The extra $100 will not be an issue any more. I have learned a lot from this ordeal and has made me a lot more mindful of what I purchase from an artist. regardless if it is from a friend or not.
teekchan
Mar. 5th, 2015 11:46 pm (UTC)
With the $100 rush fee, did you and the artist state and agree it was accepted for a rush deadline? If so it is NOT a tip, despite what the artist might say. (Sorry if the notes answer this, DB never loads for me right)
celestinaketzia
Mar. 5th, 2015 11:51 pm (UTC)
Although Rach said she was going to refund it, the initial confusion came from this conversation.

"treat it as a gift, or a tip, or as an incentive to expedite my pieces"

It was just ambiguous enough that the artist chose to treat it as a gift/tip, which I agree should have been clarified. Never leave anything open to interpretation.
(no subject) - sacch - Mar. 5th, 2015 11:52 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - dodger_greywing - Mar. 6th, 2015 12:10 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - teekchan - Mar. 6th, 2015 12:50 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - stolf - Mar. 6th, 2015 12:56 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - sbneko - Mar. 6th, 2015 12:59 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - celestinaketzia - Mar. 6th, 2015 01:05 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - eli_daggertooth - Mar. 6th, 2015 01:30 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - teekchan - Mar. 6th, 2015 03:53 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - stolf - Mar. 6th, 2015 04:09 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - teekchan - Mar. 6th, 2015 04:33 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - sacch - Mar. 6th, 2015 04:39 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - eli_daggertooth - Mar. 6th, 2015 10:56 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - wolf_goat - Mar. 6th, 2015 09:12 am (UTC) - Expand
adzuki
Mar. 6th, 2015 12:59 am (UTC)
It really bothers me when someone says they buy a commission to 'help' an artist. I am not saying the artist is at all in the right in this situation, but when red flags start popping up and work isn't getting completed, one of the last things to do would be to give the person more money.

It isn't just this situation either. It happens a lot more than it should and it really encourages bad behavior.

I do hope you see your refund in the near future as well as others effected by this artist. The backlog and behavior is unacceptable.
whoop_zi
Mar. 6th, 2015 06:46 am (UTC)
agreed.
while this artist's behavior is unacceptable, i am very bothered by people who claim they are buying commissions to "help" artists. this is business, not a charity. i dislike being made to feel like i'm being done a favor by having someone purchase my product; it feels a little condescending to me.

these situations are are a good example as to why this needs to be treated as a business transaction, OP. there are some artists that will take advantage of you if they think you want to "help" them more than you want to see a finished product.

either way, that is a huge sum of money and i really, really hope you get your refund soon. blocking someone when the transaction isn't finished is incredibly skeevy and that backlog is insane. :x

Edited at 2015-03-06 06:49 am (UTC)
Jane Vakarian
Mar. 6th, 2015 04:54 am (UTC)
Hum...whether its ($100) considered tip or not, if she hasnt done any work, it's gotta be refunded.
ravensmoon666
Mar. 6th, 2015 05:27 am (UTC)
This ^ Tips are added money for work that has been completed. She hasn't done anywork so she doesn't deserve to keep the tip.
liptonfa
Mar. 6th, 2015 06:59 am (UTC)
" I found out that she was missing some of the details of the commission and that there was another large(r) commission due for new years as well that was also missed deadline wise."

The other new years piece is still not done, but hey we just have the 6th march, probably she thinks about next new year...

http://abload.de/img/screenshot_2015-03-06muopk.png The Journal
"shortly before or after new year" ok she didn't mentioned if end of 2014 or 2015 so the 6th March sounds fine for end of 2015.

" -A fellow friend and commissioner that has 6 open commissions with Rachverity offered a proposal due to their thinking that Rachverity will ultimately not finish the commissions. This proposal was to have 3 of their commissions done by the end of March 2015 and forfeit the other three, no refunds to be paid out. (Yes, I have permission to reveal this information and themselves, but I am still going to hold and block out their name for integrity purposes)"

6th March and not a single picture of this is done, so she will start it probably in the last week and I bet then it's rushed and she will miss a lot details.

Edited at 2015-03-06 12:59 pm (UTC)
tyrano_tiggs
Mar. 6th, 2015 12:53 pm (UTC)
It's all been said already that the artist backlog is atrocious, her attitude equally so and her work ethic questionable.
But I have to ask as it's baffling me; Why did you buy so many commissions from someone you've never worked with before, hasn't completed the original commission pack and invest so much money into this person? It just seems either naivety on your part that everything would go smoothly or taking advantage of someone undercharging.

Again, not excusing the artist at all but I'd certainly advise dropping so much money on someone you've never worked with before going forward; after a few successful commissions certainly but not off the bat.
liptonfa
Mar. 6th, 2015 01:02 pm (UTC)
He bought already a commission before and had no problems.

"Back in August of 2014, Rachverity put out a journal offering a large art bundle due to need of funds. I had commissioned her once before and had an amazing experience (http://www.furaffinity.net/view/12486045/)."



Edited at 2015-03-06 01:33 pm (UTC)
(no subject) - stolf - Mar. 6th, 2015 04:20 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - celestinaketzia - Mar. 6th, 2015 07:17 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - dinogrrl - Mar. 6th, 2015 08:02 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - saniika - Mar. 6th, 2015 09:01 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - dinogrrl - Mar. 6th, 2015 09:16 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - saniika - Mar. 6th, 2015 09:23 pm (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - itsamellama - Mar. 9th, 2015 02:38 am (UTC) - Expand
(no subject) - tyrano_tiggs - Mar. 6th, 2015 11:35 pm (UTC) - Expand
saniika
Mar. 6th, 2015 06:00 pm (UTC)
It just seems wrong to me say that is wrong to contact them when asking for refund. I mean - banks call you nonstop, no one sees that as harassing - you owe money, you must own up to that. The artist cannot give you any estimate from what I understood. I am sure anyone would be worried about their money seeing this kind of behavior.

If she is living of FA and commissions, she really doesn't manage that well. By now I am surprised by how amateurish some artist behave - there are so many tutorials and helping advices online nowadays, its hard not to trip on them. :(

Sorry this all happened and I hope you guys can be civil after all.
Mazzy Techna
Mar. 6th, 2015 10:53 pm (UTC)
Just so everyone knows , She is going against her own tos

http://www.furaffinity.net/journal/6420982/

◘ A person may only order one picture per person. So you cannot order multiple pictures from me at a time. This keeps me from getting overworked and I can take on orders from different people

stolf
Mar. 6th, 2015 10:58 pm (UTC)
In Rachverity's defence, that TOS was done after I bought my art.
(no subject) - Mazzy Techna - Mar. 6th, 2015 11:01 pm (UTC) - Expand
mod comment - celestinaketzia - Mar. 6th, 2015 11:15 pm (UTC) - Expand
crissrudolf
Mar. 19th, 2015 12:39 pm (UTC)
having kinda the same problem right now, also getting ignored so i cant even asking to get my money back.
and my post is even not showing up here, i guess it shows to clear how much she ignores customers and payed comissions.
celestinaketzia
Mar. 19th, 2015 01:13 pm (UTC)
mod comment
Howdy,
your post is in the mod queue right now. Keep an eye on your registered email with live journal. You will either receive an approval or rejection. If rejection, it's more than likely because we need fixes or more information. The email will say so.
(no subject) - stolf - Mar. 19th, 2015 06:55 pm (UTC) - Expand
( 43 comments — Leave a comment )

Profile

A_B icon
artists_beware
Commissioner & Artist, Warning & Kudos Community

Community Tags

Powered by LiveJournal.com